Parliamentary Friends of Asthma Group

The Group was founded in 1999 by the National Asthma Council Australia and, has since then served as an excellent vehicle for Members and Senators of the Australian Parliament to meet representatives of the two national asthma organisations and to be briefed about the latest developments in asthma and its effect on the Australian community.

The group aims to raise awareness of the issues of people living with Asthma whilst at the same time considering strategies to assist Australians with asthma and their families.

Like all Parliamentary friendship groups, the Parliamentary Friends of Asthma group has to be reformed after each Federal election. The current Parliamentary convenors are:

  • Mr Tony Pasin, MP, Member for Barker, SA, LP – Co-Convenor
  • Ms Jill Hall, MP, Member for Shortland, NSW, ALP– Co-Convenor
  • Senator The Hon. Arthur Sinodinos, AO, Senator for NSW, LP
  • Senator Catryna Bilyk, Senator for Tasmania, ALP

Latest news

On October 30, 2014, the National Asthma Council and Asthma Australia co-hosted a luncheon at Parliament House, Canberra for some 100 Members of Parliament, Senators and their advisors as well as representatives of the National Asthma Council Australia, Asthma Australia, the National Prescribing Service, the Pharmacy Guild of Australia and the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.

Mr Tony Pasin MP commenced the proceedings with some the basic facts about asthma in Australia and his considerable experience as a patient with asthma, and introduced the Minister for Health, the Hon. Peter Dutton MP. The Minister announced funding of $200,000 to the National Asthma Council Australia for the development of a new National Asthma Strategy in partnership with Asthma Australia, and in consultation with the asthma stakeholders. Associate Professor Mark Hurwitz, Director, Respiratory and Sleep Medicine, the Canberra Hospital, gave an update on asthma in Australia, including its current treatment. Ms Jill Hall MP thanked everyone for participating and the National Asthma Council Australia for organising the function. Mr Mark Brooke, the CEO of Asthma Australia and Ms Kristine Whorlow, the CEO of the National Asthma Council Australia, both played roles in introducing and thanking the speaker and Convenors. 

The Minister's press release can be viewed here.

Asthma Report 07A