Asthma and allergy media awards

Recognising excellence in asthma and allergy reporting by journalists, bloggers and health professionals

Since its establishment, the National Asthma Council Australia has enjoyed a close partnership with Australia's media.  According to Chief Executive Officer, Kristine Whorlow, early media relations activities, commencing around 1991, helped heighten political awareness of asthma and proved to be a key plank in the Council's successful lobbying to have asthma made a National Health Priority Area.

Today, quality reporting of asthma continues to keep asthma top of mind in the community, reinforces the fact that we need to continue to take asthma seriously and it does much to increase understanding of the condition, its triggers and its management.

Recognising the important role the media play in asthma education, the National Asthma Council Australia created the National Asthma Council Australia Media Awards in 1998 to acknowledge and reward excellence in asthma journalism and to promote and encourage responsible reporting of issues relating to asthma treatment, management and education.

Now more than 15 years later, the Awards’ scope has been expanded to recognise excellence in allergy reporting and in 2014, for the first time, to include an award for the best piece in social media.

Congratulations go to all of our award winning journalists for their contribution to quality reporting of asthma and allergy in the Australian media.

Pictured from left to right (below): Our 2014 award winners; Sean Parnell, Zoe Perl, Emily Rice, Mechelle Wilson and Leanne Philpott

Media Awards 2014 Highres 001 19

2014 award winners

2010 award winners